Blogging

The REAL Book Vs. The Technology That Is Trying To Take Over The World!

12c0c2e810d03402189f640c7a4220ab

So I don’t know about the rest of you but I have always been one of those people that loves to read physical novels. I love flipping the pages, I love the smell, I love seeing my progress in a book, and finally that moment when you close the book after finishing it and you just sit there in awe over what you just read. You can’t get that from an ereader or from kindle or whatever. However, I do own a Kobo Aura in this pretty chocolate brown colour… not that that really matters .. except it totally does!

I am now kind of being forced to use it because the books that I am reading are only available as digital editions. I’m sure some of you do this as well, but I do book reviews for a website called NetGalley which is super cool because you can read books that haven’t been released yet. I was on cloud 9 when I stumbled across it! So you go on and make a profile so that the publishing companies or editors can see what you’re all about, and if they think that you’re a good fit then they will approve your request to read the book they have listed for review. Obviously they are not going to send out physical copies of these books for free… Errrmegerdddd could you imagine!?!? So once they approve you you are then able to download the novel and load it onto whatever device you are going to be reading it off of. So I have been having to use my Kobo instead of reading a physical book.

I’ve decided that both Kobos and/or eReaders as well as books all have their pros and cons. Let’s explore this shall we!?!?

bfbf6a5c151866ea538f7c7e58787e28

Pros of physical books:

  • My big thing is that I love to own it, especially if it’s a series. So that when I’m done they can sit together for all eternity
  • Books add personality and comfort to your home
  • The feel, the smell, everything about them makes you feel wonderful
  • Having a big collection of books is surely going to impress everyone who walks into your home, or at least spark some kind of conversation

i-love-real-books-bookmark

Cons of physical books (ughhh this is hard!):

  • They take up a lot of space. I have now started to pile books onto the floor next to my bookshelves .. yes plural .. because they are all full.
  • It is expensive. Especially if it’s an author’s first novel or a new release because they normally only come in hardcover. Which, I don’t know about you but I have a strong dislike for hardcovers… I like reading paperback so much more.

Pros for the digital reader thingys(yes, that is what I have chosen to call them):

  • Very compact so no need to lug around giant purses full of books anymore
  • Everything is cheaper!! Which means more reading for you, you, and you!
  • They come in pretty colours and you can get cute accessories for them ๐Ÿ™‚ .. yes that matters!

E-book

Cons for the digital reader thingys:

  • They’re not books…

Of course there are other cons but I really don’t think I need to say more than that. I guess at the end of the day paper will always beat electronic .. for me anyways, I don’t know about you. I feel like I am connected to history even if I am reading a book published recently because the world is moving forward so fast and books kind of remind me of simpler things. People sitting down, writing stories, and printing them out for people to enjoy. Now a lot of it is through the internet and I don’t feel as strong of a connection to the literature because I am not able to feel it and touch it, I can just see it. I guess that isn’t enough for me.

So, I use my Kobo when it is necessary BUT I’m physical book girlie through and through. How about you?? ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. Can you tell that I was able to write this with a totally unbiased opinion? Oh good, I’m glad you noticed!

7 thoughts on “The REAL Book Vs. The Technology That Is Trying To Take Over The World!

  1. What I find nice about physical books is that you can read them anywhere (as long as there is light, even if it is from a candle or something) as opposed to e-books that you can only read anywhere there is electricity. But in the end, it’s the food that matters, not the plate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

