Blogging

Back To The Book Basics… Or The Bookics!!

I always come across different lists that people have in regards to books people need to read before they die. There are so many!! There is no where near enough time to get through them all. I started to panic a little about all the books I know I will probably never get a chance to read and decided to come up with a different kind of list. I’ve decided to pick and choose books that I think people should have in their literary vocabulary right away. I don’t want to list books people should read before they die, I want to list books that I think people should start with when building their literary vocabulary. I think these books teach a lot of great lessons and hold a lot of history that most books today simply don’t. That is not to say that today’s literature isn’t good, I’m just saying it’s different.

So if some of you are discovering books are your friends or you’re becoming an avid reader then pick these up. They will help you find your way in your journey through the literature wilderness!

P.S. This list isn’t going to have any of the books I have raved about in the last couple weeks. I’d like to give you guys something fresh. If you want to see the other lovely stories a love love love then click here and here.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride-and-prejudice

The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

lordrings

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

grapes-of-wrath

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

the-wind-in-the-willows-originals

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Louis Carroll

alices-adventures-wonderland

The Colour Purple by Alice Walker

The-Color-Purple

The War of the World by H. G. Wells

9780812505153_custom-s6-c30

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

Huckleberry-Finn

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

memoirs_of_a_geisha_2005_1993_poster

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

catcher-in-the-rye1

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

201109-omag-books-narnia-hires

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

lord_of_the_flies_by_william_golding

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

charlottes-web-cover

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Gone with the Wind Book

Little Women by Louisa M. Alcott

485602_com_littlewomen

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

hitchhikers-cover

Oh my goodness I need to stop myself before I start to make you guys panic like I did!! Ahhhh! There are so many more that would really benefit everyone but I think those will be saved for part two of The Bookics!!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

