Blogging · Lifestyle · Reviews

Interview With Pippa Dacosta, Author Of Girl From Above: Betrayal

Hello everyone,

I’ve decided to get back into blogging right away and I thought the best way to do that would be to post an amazing interview I had with Pippa Dacosta. She is the Author of a book I read a few months ago called Girl From Above: Betrayal, which I wrote a review on as well.

If you want to read the review go ahead and click here.

girl-from-above-1

Over the course of talking to Pippa I got to know what an amazing writer she is. This interview will speak to anyone who loves to read and write. At the end she even has some advice for anyone who is looking to get into writing as a profession. Enjoy!! And make sure we give her lots of support ❤

_____________________________________________________

When did you discover that you wanted to be a writer and how did you go about pursuing that career path?

In my early teens, I wrote stories just to get the ideas out of my head. It was something I had to do, for my own sanity. It didn’t really occur to me that I could make a living writing, until much later. In the meantime, I forced my friends to read my books (with my own pencil drawn covers!) and then life got in the way, as it generally does, and it wasn’t until I left my career as a marketing manager to look after my two little girls, that I had the brain-space to consider writing as a profession. I published my first book, Beyond The Veil, in February 2014 and was completely blown away by the response. Since then, I’ve published four more novels in the Veil series, a novella, two science fiction novels, an urban fantasy with Bloomsbury, and have many, many ideas for future works. I’m constantly surprised and thrilled to be doing something I love for a living.

How did you come up with the idea for the story of Girl From Above: Betrayal and/or the entire series?

I’d just finished the Veil Series, and was suffering from a bit of burn-out. (That series took a lot out of me, especially the latter books). So I knew I wanted to go in a completely different direction, just to clear my head. I’ve always loved science fiction, but I rarely read it because of the heavy jargon and hard science. I’m not interested in the technicalities; I’m interest in the people. And so I set out to write something different, something dirty, risky, but fun (and light on the jargon!). The characters in Girl From Above challenge what it means to be good or bad, especially the main character of Caleb, who borders on despicable. But it’s the character of #1001 who really spoke to me. Considering she’s essentially ‘made’, she has more human traits than many of the other characters. I adore the juxtaposition of Caleb’s gritty outlook & #1001 logical thinking. So, I suppose, the idea came out of necessity to try something completely crazy, and new to me. It was a risk, but Girl From Above seems to have hit a chord with readers.

How long did it take you to write Girl From Above: Betrayal?

Surprisingly, not long. As sometimes happens, an idea will come along that’s so powerful, it takes over a writers life (it happened with Beyond The Veil too). I wrote the first draft of Girl From Above in three weeks because it was all I could think about. Editing took longer, but the bones of the story were there, and once the characters got a hold of me, I was essentially their slave until they let go (Then book 2 happened!).

Tell me about your writing process for your books (ie, what does your day look like?).

I’m a mom as well as a full time writer, so I have to juggle looking after the kids with my writing career. When they’re at school, I write most days until I have to pick them up again, and then write some more in the evenings. Writing is both a passion and a chore. It’s work, and sometimes I have to force myself to sit in the darn chair and get it done, while other times I can’t wait to get in front of my laptop. It’s not like a 9-5 job. I don’t get time off. When I’m not writing, I’m thinking about writing. Vacations are like a strange kind of torture. If I can’t write at all, it’s almost feels as though I’m being starved of air.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

We live in exciting times to be a writer. There are now more ways to reach readers than ever before. I’m both traditionally published and self-published, and continue to publish through both routes today. This kind of hybrid writing career hasn’t been possible until now. But neither option is easy. You’re a writer, and writers write, whether we’re published or not. I’d recommend all writers study what, and how, they want to publish (traditional or self-pub), and don’t expect success to land in your lap. It takes hard work and persistence to turn writing into a career (yes, even with a traditional publisher), but it’s one of the most amazing ways to earn a living. I remember the first fan letter I received. It was a completely out of the blue message on my Facebook page (which was populated by tumble weeds at the time) and it simply said that she really loved my book and she asked when the sequel would be published. I read it again through blurry eyes, and again. My dream, a dream I didn’t even know I had, had become real. Now, tens of thousands of sold copies later, I‘ll never forget that first fan-message. Follow your dreams, people. If you want something badly enough, go out and get it. Nobody will succeed for you.

Leave a Reply

