Blogging · Lifestyle

Being a redhead and the art of close reading

Good morning everyone,

Well it’s good morning for me because it’s 8:30am and I’m sitting in class. I’m not a morning person in the slightest so getting up for early morning classes is a real struggle… A first world problem, if you will. It could also have something to do with the fact that the professor I have speaks in the softest monotone ever known to man. It’s like I’m being lulled to sleep by fantasy literature. Now that may sound nice but trust me it causes a lack of motivation to come to class. I mean if I’m just going to fall asleep in class I might as well stay asleep at home, let’s be honest. But this morning there is an essay due. It isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever written but it also isn’t the best.

So I wanted to make a post about a couple random things that I’ve been thinking about. For those of you who don’t know, I am a red head. And over the course of my university career that is something that has been pointed out more than any other time in my life. It’s interesting actually that almost every one of my professors somehow singles me out due to my red hair. Why is that? Well over the course of history many writters used red haired characters as their protagonists, main characters, objects of desire, etc. There has been this stereotype created because of what has been written about red heads throughout history. Things such as us having bad tempers, that we are crazy in bed, we are products of Satan, and so much more. Really the list blows my mind. I’m never offended because I think these are really interesting and I always wonder how someone came up with the idea that as redheads we are part of Satan’s army… I mean where would someone get that from?

I first heard the concept of Satan’s army when my mom bought me this book:

image

She bought it for me so long ago as a joke… She isn’t a redhead by the way. It is filled with myths, historical facts, information about famous people in our society today and in history that have red hair. It’s so weird that books are written about something like a hair colour. I guess people write about anything these days!!

I’ve wanted to read more books about redheads ever since I got this one. Some people may think I’m weird but it’s something that people point out to me everyday… As if I had never noticed I was a red head. People go from just complimenting me on my hair, to telling me a freak them out, to touching my hair without my permission, and I actually had someone try and cut a piece off to show his family back home (I think he was visiting from somewhere in Asia, the actual location has slipped my mind). I don’t know where this obssession with red hair came from but I’m determined to read more. These are a couple of the books I’ve found and I’m going to pick up…

image

image

Anyways, I’ve been blabbing about red hair for a while… Clearly you are all running forum your lives now. I do love being a red head… I’ve embraced my destiny to forever be ghostly pale and that whenever I go to donate blood multiple nurses and needles are needed to find my veins. What can you do?

I also wanted to talk about the importance of close reading. No not holding the book close to your face… Silly gooses! But really taking the time to digest and think about what is on the page. I know a lot of fast readers and I’ve always wondered if the reason they read so quickly is because they skip things in the book. Not entire chapters necessarily but maybe they skip a paragraph to get to more dialogue or they skip a long description because it seems boring. I know some people do this and I know some people are just naturally crazy fast readers. I’m somewhere in the middle I guess. I read at a good pace but not overly fast. Sometimes I find myself reading the same thing a couple times if I think it’s important. Especially if it’s a part of a series and I know I have to remember things for a year before the next book comes out. Close reading is so important. You don’t have to be reading for school to have to do close readings. It drives me crazy when I find out people skip parts of books so they can “get through it” so what I’m trying to say is don’t do it haha. The author and the editor kept that page, that paragraph, that chapter, etc, because they believed it added something to the story. That the story did better with that part instead of without. If it’s boring maybe ask why you think it’s boring. How does it relate to the rest of the story? If it’s so boring why would it be kept? If you knew maybe it wouldn’t be so boring. Close reading is what allows you to ask yourself these questions, maybe without even knowing it. So try and think about the boring parts and the parts you don’t like because they have an importance and a purpose to the overall story.

So that’s my ramble for the day. Thanks for helping me get through this class!

How do you guys read? Are you fast? Do you skip things? Are you easily bored? I want to know 🙂

Cheers!

S.

2 thoughts on “Being a redhead and the art of close reading

  1. Many people have told me I’m a fast reader, and I believe I am too since I can devour 300 page books in a matter of hours. I don’t skip much, but if there is a whole paragraph about what a room looks like and that room only had a bed and a chair it in, I will skip it. I get annoyed easily with paragraphs about surroundings, I don’t know why. It’s just how my brain reacts to them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

