Blogging · Lifestyle

Bookish Scenarios Tag?…

Over the past little while I’ve been reading about this tag on other people’s blogs and I think it’s so cool! Like a weirdo I’ve been hoping for someone to tag me in this so I could have some fun and come up with my own scenarios. Low and behold I haven’t been tagged and I’m not one to be all that patient… especially for a long period of time haha. So I’m doing it anyways!!!

Sorry if this is cheating but the way I think about it is someone had to come up with this tag in the first place so technically I’m not the first one to answer these questions without being tagged. Oh the wonders of technicalities!!

1. You have to get rid of all your books and you can only keep one from each of these genres – contemporary, fantasy, non-fiction and one other genre of your choosing. What books do you keep?

For Contemporary I would have to say The Perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I think it’s such a beautiful story and I will forever be touched by all the inspirational quotes you can find in there. With fantasy I think I’m going to have to pick Watership Down by Richard Adams. This has always been my favourite fantasy novel because I used to love reading it as a kid. For non-fiction I would have to go with Shake Hands with the Devil by by Romeo Dallaire. It is the story of how humanity failed during the genocide in Rwanda. It is such a powerful story.The genre I would choose would be an epistolary novel. For those of you who don’t know what the genre is it is a story told in the form of letters. I would have to say that my favourite epistolary novel is Evelina by Fanny Burney. I’ve always been a fan of this book because I find Burney to be such an inspiration since she is known to be the first woman to be able to be a professional writer and make a living from it.

2. You’re at the bookstore and you hear a teenager telling their mom they don’t like to read, but their mom insists they pick something. You walk over and recommend a book you think is great for people who aren’t big on reading – what book is it?

I would first be suuuuper careful about spooking this newby to reading. I’m always afraid of potentially forcing books on people and then they end up hating them. A nice light and cute read would be Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. It is such a light hearted love story between two teenagers that takes place over one epic night. I always love reading it. Plus it was made into a movie which was also super cute… but I wouldn’t tell the kid about the movie with the risk of them just watching the movie instead of reading the book.

9780375835339_custom-s6-c30

3. You’re not feeling yourself and need a pick me up. Which book do you read to put yourself in a great mood?

If I’m in a bad mood I ALWAYS reach for a Chelsea Handler book! She is so funny and I kill myself laughing every time I read her. It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve read it I still laugh like crazy!

4. You go back in time for a day to your childhood years. What book would you most likely have caught yourself reading?

There are two books that I remember reading as a child. They were the first two books (I mean full sized novels) that I read by myself and I was so proud. I guess it was these two books that really got me loving literature. They would be The Secret Garden and The Wind In The Willows. It’s funny actually because every time I see a copy of either of these books I have to buy them. I have multiple copies of both but I will always buy another copy if I see it.

5. Your friend surprises you with a 4 day trip and you have 1 hour to pack. Which book do you bring to read on the way?

I would obviously grab whatever bookSSSSS I am reading at the time. So right now it would be The ocean at the end of the lane by Neil Gaiman, I kill giants by Joe Kelly, and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling.

6. Your house has been robbed! Don’t worry – everyone is safe, but your bookshelf has been raided. What’s the book you really hope is safe?

There are actually a lot because when I was little my parents bought me around 15 original Disney story books. They’re all hardcover and have gorgeous pictures. I’ve had them since I was born and would be devastated if they were stolen!!

7. Your friend borrows a book and returns it in awful condition. Do you a) Just pretend you haven’t noticed, b) Ask them to repurchase it, or c) Secretly do the same to something of theirs?

I would never ask them to replace it. I don’t think I know anyone who would destroy one of my books so much that I wouldn’t be able to read it again. For me if a book looks like it has been read then it’s lived a good life 🙂

So those are my answers to the questions! I’m going to tag a couple of people to keep this lovely tag train going!

Younfolded

According To Ava

Your turn ladies!!

Cheers!

S.

Leave a Reply

