Blogging · Lifestyle

Where Am I Going From Here??

Hi Everyone,

So it’s that time of the year again… no not Christmas… the fall semester is over!! It’s been a rough one to be honest. I’m in the last few months of my degree and it just seems to be dragging by like molasses in January. The fall semester is done and a tradition that I have at the end of every semester is to take all of the books I had to read, stack them together, and compare them to the length of my body. This semester was pretty hefty but I remember one semester where the stack of books went almost to my waist … when I was standing up!! Don’t ask me how I got myself through that one. I don’t remember due to lack of sleep from all the reading.

I decided to take some pictures of what I had to read and show the stack to you all. Trust me when I say the pictures DO NOT do the stack justice!

Just so you guys understand the books you’re looking at I will tell you the classes I took this semester.

  • 18th century literature
  • Comic books and graphic novels
  • fantasy, myth, and language
  • literary theory: modern literature focus

I normally take five classes but I decided to hammer through some classes in the summer so now my work load isn’t as big. Imagine if I had one more course… the stack would be even bigger.

books

So here is a photo of everything I read. I don’t think I forgot anything and I’m sorry if a couple of them are upside down. I forgot to check that haha! The book at the bottom is a 400 page reader provided to us by the professor, which contains a few dozen articles we had to read and then apply to Conrad’s Heart of Darkness. It’s not just a stack of paper I swear. This picture doesn’t really show the extent of the stack so let me put it into perspective for you….

BAM!!

books1

This stack of books literally stands the height of me from the waist up. I’m not leaning over that much but I had to or else I wouldn’t have fit into the frame.. that’s saying something!!

As I was taking this picture my dog decided that he wanted to get in on the action… as soon as I am at his level he needs all my attention.

This is Parker!

He’s my little ray of sunshine!!!

I did a bit of an approximation of the amount of pages I read this semester and it may scare some of you haha! It’s around 9000 pages over the course of 12 weeks. That’s 750 pages per week. Which is around 120 pages per day. It may not seem like a lot BUT when you have class, work, and what you are trying to pass off as a social life… it’s a lot.

Here is a list of everything I studied.. the pictures don’t really show the titles and such all that well so I decided to list them for you 🙂

  • Are you my mother? by Alison Bechdel
  • Pretty deadly by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Emma Rios
  • I kill giants by Joe Kelly and Ken Niimura
  • Uzumaki by Junji Ito
  • Trillium by Jeff Lemire
  • Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud
  • V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David lloyd
  • Batman Arkham Asylum by Grant Morrison and Dave McKean
  • Palestine by Joe Sacco
  • Ms Marvel: No Normal by Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona
  • Watership Down by Richard Adams
  • Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susannah Clarke
  • The ocean at the end of the lane by Neil Gaiman
  • The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
  • Evelina by Frances Burney
  • Oroonoko by Behn
  • Gulliver’s Travels by Swift
  • 60 poems and short stories by writers such as Hogarth, Swift, Locke, Pope, Burke, Gay, Rochester, Montague, Goldsmith, etc.
  • Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  • Various essays by writers such as Judith Butler, T. S. Elliot, etc.

As you can see the list is quite extensive. I intend to write reviews on at least some of these since I have in fact read them. So now that this semester is over where do I go from here?

ON TO THE NEXT AND FINAL ONE!! THAT’S WHERE!

Next semester I will be doing 16th century literature, medieval literature, Elizabethan Shakespeare, and horror fiction. Wish me luck and I will post my reading lists as soon as I get them… we can visualize together how large the stack will be!!

book6

Until then!!

S.

3 thoughts on “Where Am I Going From Here??

Leave a Reply

